Cosplay By Candy – NYCC ’16

My First American Convention – @candyvalentina_

This month (On October 7th & 8th) I achieved something off my bucket list. I attended New York Comic Con! This was my first EVER experience of an American convention!

Flying out there, I had no idea what to expect. I couldn’t even picture what it would be like. Part of me was a little bit nervous about the whole thing. I’m not going to lie! What if I hated it? What if I couldn’t find the place? Well I can tell you now; all this worrying was totally silly! It was the best experience, and I am so grateful I was able to attend.

It seriously did not disappoint! It was insane! There were so many awesome things to see and do! There were so many cool cosplayers to meet, amazing artists to admire and stands to see. I managed to get a few snaps with Jessica Nigri, Leeanna Vamp and Lisa Lou Who whilst there. They were all super nice, and I am glad I can tick meeting them off my list!

1    2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(Myself and LeeAnna Vamp)                                     (Myself and Jessica Nigri)

I decided to cosplay Rogue for this convention as it is easy to travel with. No stress of anything breaking in my suitcase. (Every cosplayers fear.)

I never would have guessed that it would get the response that it did. It literally blew my mind! Apparently everyone loves Rogue as much as me!

She was one of my favourite characters growing up as a kid, so it was about time I cosplayed as her. I had so much fun! She is such a strong feisty character.

 
34

 

 

 

 

 

 

(Friday Cosplay – Casual Rogue)                           (Saturday Cosplay – Rogue)

Walking around the Jarvits Centre, it felt like it was at least 3x the size of the Excel centre (maybe even bigger). Literally the place went on FOREVER!!! It was so mental! Just when you thought you had seen everything, a new hall appeared! It also had plenty to see and do outside as well. No fuss on re-entering once outside also (total blessing).

The con had such a great atmosphere to it, even at the times when it felt full to its capacity. (Which Saturday I am sure it was.) Everyone was smiling, having fun and embracing their “geekiness”. People asked nicely for photos, didn’t touch you inappropriately, and also didn’t try and take photos of you whilst eating! This really stood out to me. Here in the UK, so many people still make these mistakes. Especially the weird touching one…EWW! But that’s a tale for another time!

5

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(Enjoying an Oreo milkshake in Dennys!)

Without a doubt, my first experience at NYCC was one I will not be forgetting in a hurry! I got to meet so many awesome people, and have real life conversations with people I only usually am able to interactive with online. It is safe to say this was my first, but somehow I feel like it won’t be my last con in America!

It was fun to stretch my wings, and fly over the pond to see what it is all about that side of the water!

Shout out to Nate who runs @cosplay.and.comics over on Instagram, for coming to find me both days! He has championed my work over on his page from the beginning, and I am super grateful to him for everything he has done for me!

Until next time!

Candy ❤

Please check out my website & shop

CandyValentina.co.uk

CandyValentina.co.uk/Shop

Follow Me!

Facebook-Icon2Twitter-Icon.gifInstagram-Icon.gifYoutubeSTACK

Leave a Reply

